Phone Calls- Slice Of Life Day 4

My sister called. When I see her number surrounded by a palm tree, heart and a dolphin emoji (because that is who she is) my heart smiles. The other emojis I would add are a unicorn (because she is so unique) and a Phoenix (because that kid has risen from the ashes more than the norm.)

My sister lives in California and I live in Michigan so time is not on our sisterly side. When she calls two things go through my mind, 1.)YAY! time to share our crazy lives or 2.) “Have you talked to Mom and Dad?” The second is always loaded. Our Dad is sick with Cancer and it has been quite a roller coaster, so conversations that begin with “Have you talked with Mom and Dad?” can be heavy.

Today was a catch up day and a lot of the sharing actually about being the daughters’ of our parents. That shared understanding is what keeps us so very close. We laugh at the absurdity of things, but most of all we come up with a plan. A plan for the best way to approach a situation or a conversation with our parents. Being as old as we are, we remind ourselves of the patterns we know to be true and that gives us solace. Dad has a certain way of being as does Mom. Helping each other navigate is simply necessary.

Lots of head shaking and grunting from my parents has occurred over the last few years. My sister and I have both been involved in some sticky situations- spouses, jobs, teens, houses,  enough said. My parent do a lot of the aforementioned actions. We just carry on.

Our lives are crazy and unpredictable, not because of us, but because of the people in them. Things never seen before by my parents hence the head shaking and grunting. I think we are kind of amazing- we have each other, my sister and I.

Life is unpredictable, but what  I know for sure is; control what you can control and do what you have to do. Protect yourself because no one will do it for you- unless you have a dolphin, heart, palm tree emoji sister like mine!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Phone Calls- Slice Of Life Day 4

  1. Love this post! I connected with it since my brother and I are very close. I’ve also learned growing older how to form a healthy relationship with my parents, and it’s great that you have your sister to navigate through that together. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. This one pulled right at my heartstrings. Particularly this paragraph: “Today was a catch up day and a lot of the sharing actually about being the daughters’ of our parents. That shared understanding is what keeps us so very close. We laugh at the absurdity of things, but most of all we come up with a plan. A plan for the best way to approach a situation or a conversation with our parents. Being as old as we are, we remind ourselves of the patterns we know to be true and that gives us solace. Dad has a certain way of being as does Mom. Helping each other navigate is simply necessary.”

    It’s like we are living parallel lives in a way…or more that your relationship with your sister is what mine needs to get back to. I vow to make that happen. Thank you for exactly what I needed.

    Like

  3. I really love this slice so much—siblings are unique in the way we can know one another despite distance and differences. I can also really relate to your statement about your parents having particular ways of being and needing to navigate that fact. Beautiful post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

