Pressure Induced ADD or “Of Course Conferences are in 2 Days”-SOL Day 5

I am in my classroom getting ready for conferences and “SQUIRREL!” I know you all know the feeling. Our list to do is super long, print this, annotate that, comment here, there and everywhere about student progress. Why is it that in those moments all of these other things come up- Oh I need to rewrite my schedule in a different color- the new markers, that hook has fallen, that poster is crooked, those books are unkempt. And the email, the websites, THE BLOGS! How their little voices creep in with their tantalizing new, better, more exciting ideas to make my life easier, allow me to meet the standards and have my students experience phenomonal acacemic growth. Facebook? Pintest? Instagram? Yes. They are all there waiting and tempting my already squirrel-like tendencies.

I have 347 links saved on my Facebook feed. My dream is to have a time when I can properly peruse those cool links, but like in the book “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie,” more is needed. I generally cannot read an article, watch a link without wanting more, diving further. I have never caught myself saying, “Oh, so that is how you do it, ” and turn of the computer. Nope, I see the sources, the further links and I am off on a wild rabbit chase through the world of information. I know you know.

About 6 weeks ago I saw something radical, the “To DON’T List.” I actully just looked back through my Facebook saves, but no where to be found. Ha, ironic. The concept is simple. As we are making our TO DO LISTS make a TO DON’T List and be sure those things are your to do list are not too many. My TO DON’T started with my phone. I had to put in another room- no checking email, Facbook, Twitter while I was grading essays. Amazingly that did wonders. I actually completed a task. YAY! There are lots of references on TO DON’Ts – articles, videos etc., but the concept is clear. Compartmantalized self-discipline can be very satisfying.

After I finish this, I am enlisting my To DON’T and diving into my work. You see, I do have 12 conferences on Tuesday and lots of preparation to do. I will walk past the crooked poster and the unkept books. I will bypass the 347 saved links on Facebook. My list starts with notes on my first student- what is it that I can share? Enlisting the anti-squirrel TO DON’T List – NOW.

Last thought! As much as I LOVE LOVE LOVE anyone who takes the time to comment on this post, I cannot read them until LATER! It will be like my little treat after a long day. Cheers!

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post every day in March.

Slice of Life is hosted by Two Writing Teachers. I thank them for the community they provide. Read more slices here.

4 thoughts on “Pressure Induced ADD or “Of Course Conferences are in 2 Days”-SOL Day 5

  1. Ha! A to-don’t list! love this. It is far too easy for me to get caught up in the rabbit-hole, as well. Great slice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

