Keeping up

I am typing this on my phone tonight. My computer decided to update. And because I did not write earlier this is my only option. I have become a late slicer. I did not begin like that in fact I began as an early slicer.I had all intentions of staying in early slicer but as in many of my other life, when I begin with I don’t usually end with in fact.

I have a hard time keeping up with things in general. I suppose I’m more of an event by event planner. Not super consistent in anything I do. I’ve had to learn how to go against myself in many situations and especially in school.I always get things done I meet deadlines, I’m on time, I’m dressed appropriately. I was talking to some friends at the softball game tonight who have had great success and losing a bunch of weight. I think to myself I know how to lose weight and I should lose weight. 

In the time I’ve been taking to write every night I could actually be going to the gym, but then when would I have time to write? The whole keeping up with everything philosophy I totally get it. It totally gives you more time and more peace at least that’s the way it seems. The reality is I don’t keep up with anything really. There’s a pile of clothes that need to be hung up. There are dishes in the sink that need to be washed. There’s papers in a pile that need to be graded. They’re saved items on Facebook that need to be read. There are running shoes that need to be used. And don’t even get me started on my classroom!

So as I sat down to write this, I told myself I would try to catch up a bit this weekend. To put some clothes away, do some dishes. grade some papers, find time for some exercise. No, make time for some exercise. You see I’ve spent at least a half an hour to an hour every day writing. I have kept up with that. I know I can do it. I might not be keeping up with all the things in my life simultaneously but I figure if I can put my energy into one thing once in a while I will keep moving forward. My choices not everybody’s choice.

5 thoughts on “Keeping up

  1. That’s awesome.. I’m happy for you, and I admire you for keeping up with your goal.

    I’m a wanna-be who whines too much about not having time, and I’ve seen the time I devoted to this dwindle — from 2 hours for a really cool blog I wrote once, down to 10 minutes (as of tonight). In the meantime, I’ve given up my exercise and probably gained anywhere from between 5-7 pounds. Nervous eating that I’m beginning to replace with chewing gum, because I still don’t know how to calm the anxious gotta-write-writerly thing down.

    It’s okay. I’m aware of all this, and that’s what’s important.

    Today, I read about noticing when your mind is calm and .. something else, I have to go back and read .. and then using that “present moment” to write.

    Your post kind of helped me plan out what I’ll do this weekend to carve out that 30 minutes for myself to write – I hope to expand it to an hour, but baby steps.

    I really appreciate it! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Sounds like you are moving forward . I spend a lot of time getting kids unstuck, but I think we forget about ourselves. I’ve just become aware of the reality I’m always in a state of “I’m behind” and I’m OK with that. I have to find the joy in my own way and comparing myself to others or feeling like I’m not enough has never worked very well. Good luck and remember to have fun writing is wonderful. Some pieces better than others but we’re always good for ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Comparison is the thief of joy–Theodore Roosevelt. I try to live by this as I, too, am an “always behind” person. Maybe the truth is we all are? or we all have some struggle. Some are just better at the facade.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree 100%! And the power of being present is fantastic. Just this morning I was actually making headway and then I got a call from my daughter that she wanted me to meet her and look at prom dresses. Any opportunity I can get to hang out with my daughter I’m in! I have totally learned not to stress about things that can be done eventually. I have taught myself to relax and enjoy the ride!

      Like

Leave a Reply

